Related List View inside Single Template

I want to include a list of all other products on a single product page (layouts/product/single.html).

I was hoping I could do something like this in the single template file:

{{ range where .Data.Pages “Type” “product” }}
{{ .Render “summary”}}
{{ end }}

However this will only work in the homepage template and not inside a layout template. (is why explained in the docs because I’m not getting it?)

Attempted Solutions

{{ .Render “summary” }} will render the current item. Is there a function that will list all other content items? After looking through the documentation the closest I can come up with is {{ .Prev.Title }} to list the previous item.

Moving the content files to data directory I can achieve this with the following:

{{ range .Site.Data.product }}
{{ .Title }}
{{ end }}

However I would like to reference the items stored in content/product/

I am new to Hugo and I am probably missing a key point but hopefully this post will help me (and others) to grasp a better understanding of the Hugo template system.

If I understood your questions correctly, you want to list all pages of type “product” on a page (accompanied with something about them like summary or product description).

I did a similar thing a while ago while creating an archive page for my pages of type post, it is documented here. Is this what you are looking for?

http://parsiya.net/blog/2016-02-14-archive-page-in-hugo/

You can define where the location of the archive page and any extra items (apart from product descriptions) that appear in the page.

@parsiya yes but instead of an archive page I would like to display the list of other products within the single.html template of a product.

The ‘Recent’ variable is displaying what I want with the following code:

{{ range first 4 (where .Site.Recent “Type” “product”)}}
{{ .Render “list” }}
{{ end }}