How to have custom single.html post for each individual product/post

Hi. I’m quite new to hugo.
I know we have list.html and single.html inside _default, and we can set a custom single.html using different folder.

My question is, if let said i have three products, all the data in three seperate .yml, which the three will use the products/list.html to list the three items.
how do i create a custom page for the three item? like having 3 single.html file, each unique to one items? Do i need to use layout?

Instead of storing data as data files, store them in content/products/product-*/index.md as frontmatter. Then you can specify the layout you want to use through the layout frontmatter variable.

Define the custom layout in layouts folder and you’ll be good to go.

I have already define a custom .html file in
layouts/products/productA.html
layouts/products/productB.html
layouts/products/productC.html

what should i put in the content/products/_index.md to tell the which page should use which page, and not to use the layouts/products/single.html?

When you mention specify the layout frontmatter variable, does that mean each .html should check if the variable equal to β€œA”, something like that?

did you mean in the layout/product/single.html, i should have a code to check the frontmmatter that i declare in content/product/productA.md? for example

author: testing
layout: contentA

then use the frontmatter β€œlayout” to be check inside single.html?

or do you means inside the content/product/_index.md, i should declare β€œkind/layout” variable, and then it will somehow know which content should use which html?

Try it:

git clone --single-branch -b hugo-forum-topic-37085 https://github.com/jmooring/hugo-testing hugo-forum-topic-37085
cd hugo-forum-topic-37085
hugo server
content/
β”œβ”€β”€ products/
β”‚   β”œβ”€β”€ _index.md
β”‚   β”œβ”€β”€ product-1.md  <-- front matter: layout = 'product-1'
β”‚   β”œβ”€β”€ product-2.md  <-- front matter: layout = 'product-2