Need help picking up issues for contributing to Hugo Development

Hello and I hope you are well, and I wish you a happy holidays.
I’m a software engineer with some years of C# development, and some old school web development. But I’d like to have some experience in Go for fun and profit.
I’ve finished reading a Go book, and I want to put what I’ve learned into practice by contributing to Hugo.
That’s probably going to be slow at first, but I’ll try to put a few hours a week (or maybe a day) into contributing to Hugo development.
I’ve gone through reading most of Hugo documentation and Youtube video docs, and I’ve read the Contribute to Hugo Development docs too. Ready!
Now I need help with picking up issues to start working on. Should I just pick any issue labeled with GoodFirstIssue and start working on it, and send a PR when finished?
Or does Hugo have any special contribution culture?
I really prefer to start working on issues that you really want to be resolved, so I can expect good help until I know what issues to pick later. So If I could be assigned an issue, that’d be what works best for me. I don’t have any serious open source contribution, and this is probably going to be my first serious one. Any help is appreciated.
And thanks so much for providing the amazing Hugo.

The one described in https://github.com/gohugoio/hugo/blob/master/CONTRIBUTING.md.

You also need to know that there is a second repository at GitHub - gohugoio/hugoDocs: The source for https://gohugo.io/ where the documentation lives.

1 Like

Thanks for the answer. So I should just pick an issue from Issues · gohugoio/hugo · GitHub and start working on it?

I’m an occasional contributor. I’ve been busy with Life™ and haven’t had time to contribute much this year, but here are my recommendations: