Render index.md as single

Hello,
I’m new to hugo
i try to use i as an cms and not as an blog engine.
everything works fine, but i want to have an index.md
that renders “/” as single page and not as list of posts

i’m using https://github.com/spf13/hyde

this must be simple, but i find nothing about it

btw the
hugo new --kind “$randomstring” seems to does nothing, is this a bug?

1 Like

/ is a list template.

With the current version of Hugo, everything is a page. So, you can do this with your source organization:

content/
        _index.md

Note Use _index.md and not index.md. This will be the content and front matter for your homepage now. Once you have content added to this page, you can call it in the layouts/index.html template the same way you would any other individual content file via {{.Content}}. If you have errors with this approach, I would recommend filing an issue on the theme’s github repository. It looks like it hasn’t been updated in a while…since it requires only v14 of the HUGO to run.

HTH

The easiest thing to try is:

Remove this section from the Homepage template

{{ range .Data.Pages }}
          <div class="post">
            <h1 class="post-title">
              <a href="{{ .Permalink }}">
                {{ .Title }}
              </a>
            </h1>

<span class="post-date">{{ .Date.Format "Mon, Jan 2, 2006" }}</span>

{{ .Content }}
          </div>
          {{ end }}

Then create an _index.md file in the /content/ folder: /content/_index.md with your content.

Put

<div class="post">
    {{ .Content }}
  </div>

instead of the removed part of the template and everything should be fine.

1 Like

_index.md
does not work, can you give me a full example please?

i dont want to touch anything in themes/
(cant be right, hugo should be a cms, not blog only)

there are 2 templates in “hyde”:

ls -1 themes/hyde/layouts/_default/
list.html
single.html

is there no way to force the use of “single” via header?