Migrating from WordPress » non-ascii chars in permalinks » 404

Hi all, I’m interested in possibly migrating my WordPress blog to Hugo. I’ve had preliminary success migrating my content into Hugo’s structure, but I’ve encountered an issue for which Google yields no solution: some of my posts include emoji and/or Hebrew text in their titles, and so far I can’t get these posts to be successfully served by hugo serve or python -m SimpleHTTPServer or an old version of httpd running on my personal server.

To elaborate:

I started with

• A WordPress blog with 3,269 posts that I’ve been running since 2004 on various versions of PHP, MySQL, Linux, etc
  • Currently running WordPress 4.7 on Ubuntu 14.04.1 LTS with PHP 5.5.9-1ubuntu4.5 and MySQL 14.14 Distrib 5.5.40 (whatever that means)
  • My MySQL DB is so old and has been migrated so many times that it’s a wonder it kinda-sorta still works. I would be shocked if it used a sensible character encoding setting, etc. It’s probably a mess.

I did

1. Used the Jekyll Exporter WordPress plugin to generate and download my site in Jekyll’s structure
  2. Discovered via jekyll serve that a bunch of my earlier posts included “invalid” byte sequences (invalid as per Unicode, in other words byte sequences that are not valid Unicode)
  3. Used a rudimentary shell script invoking iconv to remove all the invalid byte sequences
  4. Used hugo import jekyll to import the site from the Jekyll structure to the Hugo structure

Now I’ve got

• Most of the posts look great, work great.
  • The posts with emoji/Hebrew in their titles render correctly in the index
    • Except for that … showing up at the end — I have no idea what that is. Many of the posts have that at the end — it seems to be more common with more recent posts
      • Maybe it’s related to the plugin I’ve been using to import tweets
  • But I can’t navigate to those pages. I get a 404