I only want to get ONE Hugo site up and running

Hi, I’m new to HUGO and have many HUGO Template that I’ve installed via Git ,

None of them give clear instructions on how to edit them. So I need a little help to get started. Currently I’m using Linux but will switch to whatever platform you want.

Thanks

2 Likes

To be able to help you we need specific questions. A link to your repo is really good so we can replicate your issues.

2 Likes

I want to install HUGO on an Amazon Web Services instance of Lightsail. I don’t know if I should use CentOS or Ubuntu type commands in AWS instance ??

It seems there are so many ways to go wrong, that I hesititate to even try.

Not sure what you are trying to do. I suggest you start by installing Hugo on your own computer and build your site. When everything works there you can start exploring deployment options.

Since Hugo will generate a static site with plain HTML, css and js files you can upload them almost anywhere.

I use AWS a fair amount, haven’t used Lightsail, but it appears Lightsail basically sets up a server and dev stack for you. You can choose your OS like ubuntu or centos, and, theoretically could ssh in and run Hugo there, but, rather I would recommend to simply run it locally.

You’re developing a static site, viewing it with hugo server as you develop, and then you run hugo to generate the site and put it in /public under your project folder. Once you get the site built, the easiest thing is frankly to use hugo deploy and push to Amazon AWS S3. It’s a static site, so it’s pretty easy to make S3 work for that, and it costs next to nothing / month for a small volume site (that is, your typical blog). If you need DNS hosting just use AWS Route 53 and set up a hosted zone for your domain.

Lightsail automates a lot it appears, but, in my opinion you don’t really need a full server environment just to host some html, css and js.