Compiling and hosting Hugo on any host?

Hi everyone, I’m a designer, and I do basic HTML + CSS + jQuery front-end dev, but the documentation for Hugo seems extremely technical.

I’ve managed to install it and created a basic site using the Agency theme. Now I can’t figure out how to host it up on my hosting package with 1and1. It does not have an index.html? How do I host my site? I can preview it fine in localhost.

Is this only for Github? Can I compile my site to a working HTML site I can use anywhere, somehow?

Sorry if this seems like a stupid question, I am new to Static generators like HUGO, but it seems pretty cool and I want to learn. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

To generate your site manually just run hugo without any options in your site’s directory. It will create a directory named public which will contain the HTML files. Generally copying whatever is inside and dropping them into the root of your website will work (this is very general advice and you may have to do things differently depending on your host).

With hugo server it is generating the site in memory and usually avoid the disk to speed up updating.

I have not looked at the documentation but it seems like we may not have anything for deployment. I think we may need to have to create a quickstart guide from start to finish.

The deployment part of the user guide is here: https://gohugo.io/overview/usage#deploying-your-web-site

There is some discussion about automating deployment here: https://discuss.gohugo.io/t/uploading-directly-from-the-command-line/2531/4

and a few pointers to some tools for deployment towards the end of this: https://gohugo.io/tools/

I recommend you persist with hugo - there’s a small learning curve but for me it made making websites fun again!

1 Like

I have separated build paths for preview, publish and project.

This is how you publish to a folder outside your Hugo project: hugo --baseURL="/" --destination= your_public_folder --theme=hugo-bootstrap.