Hugo config.toml failed with disqus and privacy.disqus

Hi,

I’m new to Hugo, and I’m planning to add disqus comment system to my hugo site.

My config.toml is like this:

baseURL = "https://marguerite.github.io"
languageCode = "zh-cn"
title = "Marguerite Su: Golang/Ruby Programmer, openSUSE Member"
theme = "blank"
disqusShortname = "innamoramento"
[privacy]
    [privacy.disqus]
        disable = false

When I ran “hugo -D”, it kept complaining:

Error: Error building site: failed to render pages: render of "page" failed: execute of template failed: template: _internal/disqus.html:1:16: executing "_internal/disqus.html" at <.Site.Config.Privacy.Disqus>: can't evaluate field Site in type string

I guess hugo just can’t find disqus privacy settings. I searched around the hugo codebase and copyed back:

baseURL = "https://marguerite.github.io"
languageCode = "zh-cn"
title = "Marguerite Su: Golang/Ruby Programmer, openSUSE Member"
theme = "blank"
[privacy]
[privacy.disqus]
disable = false
[services]
[services.disqus]
shortname = "innamoramento"

But still get no luck.

Currently I can get disqus work by add a paritial which works around the privacy system :frowning:

But I’m lazy, I just want to use the default…

Thanks for any help

Marguerite

Remove that [services] stuff. That has no function.

Remove that [privacy.disqus] section, false is the default is the default setting and these lines have no function.

The error is: at <.Site.Config.Privacy.Disqus>: can't evaluate field Site in type string - this points to a problem further up the line. Hugo can’t evaluate the Site parameter, not the privacy.disqus-part. Check your config.toml if there are toplevel settings between subsections, if there are multiple privacy sections and so on.

If removing those points do not change the issue then please post a link to your repo, there are more points where error might occur, but I suspect issues with the structure of your configuration file.