Discrepancy between Hugo server and Public website

Hello,
I am rather new to Hugo so I apologize in advance for what is probably a rather simple mistake that I don’t quite see.

Here is my Hugo config file:

baseurl =“./”
languageCode = “en-us”
title = “Welcome”

contentdir = “content”

canonifyurls = false
relativeURLS = true
uglyurls = true

disable404 = false
enableRobotsTXT = true

[Params]
Author = “dbs”

[blackfriday]
angledQuotes = true
fractions = false
plainIDAnchors = true
extensions = [“hardLineBreak”]

I am using a firefox desktop bowser.
Using this file when I generate a simple website and render it on hugo server everything works fine.

However the local copy of the published website in ~/wbdir/public/ is not rendered correctly. The main index file ~/wbdir/public/index.html is fine. But when I navigate to a subfolder say ~/wbdir/public/posts/ I do not see the expected pages. I see a list of files/folders in that subdirectory and an index file there ( ~/wbdir/public/posts/index.html ) . The index file ( ~/wbdir/public/posts/index.html ) then has to be clicked to see the expected structure. The same issue happens with subfolders of a folder …etc.

I am attaching the structure of my ~/wbdir/public

> public ├── 404.html ├── assets │ ├── apple-touch-icon-144-precomposed.png │ └── favicon.ico ├── css │ ├── lanyon.css │ ├── poole.css │ └── syntax.css ├── fixed │ ├── about │ │ └── index.html │ ├── altab │ │ └── index.html │ ├── contact │ │ └── index.html │ ├── index.html │ └── index.xml ├── index.html ├── index.xml ├── posts │ ├── 2013-12-31-whats-jekyll │ │ └── index.html │ ├── 2014-01-01-example-content │ │ └── index.html │ ├── 2014-01-02-introducing-lanyon │ │ └── index.html │ ├── index.html │ └── index.xml ├── robots.txt └── sitemap.xml

For testing I deployed the published website to an apache server (using rsync) and I have the same problem.