Tutorial that teaches the theory, not the end result?

Hi,

I’m a Hugo newbie who is experiencing tutorial frustration. The current tutorial seems to be like “here’s how you can get this beautiful theme up and running in no time, and here’s how you can replace the title with your own title, now good luck!” instead of teaching the underlying principles of the system in a linear fashion.

Is there a good tutorial that would teach me how Hugo really works, so that I can eventually make it do what how I want? I have an ongoing gripe with open-source “tutorials” that just want to show off the most impressive thing the system can do in the least amount of command lines, without actually teaching anything about said system…

(PS: My frustration is echoed in this old thread by eaigner. Thought I would revive the topic in a new thread.)

Thanks!

John

1 Like

I don’t speak for the project, but I don’t think there is. Hugo is a templating system, with a lot of flexibility, and it is difficult to fully understand. Fortunately, most don’t need to grok it to get started using it.

Please read every page of documentation. It lays out the web of information you’ll need to understand the nuances of templates and formats and all that. And then you’ll be able to let us know how to improve the docs! :slight_smile:

That is not the case with our quickstart (it isn’t that impressive, feature-wise). It is, actually, closer to the thing that most people ask us for, including the thread you linked to. Most of the time folks are not asking for more detail, but instead would just like to paste a few lines and have a site up.

If you see that as a pattern in software projects, it isn’t an accident. It is the only marketing projects have.

Do you have experience with another static site generator? There is a common pattern of processing content files via templates, and if you know a different system, let us know, maybe someone can translate vocabulary between them.