Seeking Thoughts: What to do when a page doesn’t need to be built

Hi there,

I have what I consider to be a potentially strange use case, and I wanted to get some thoughts from the broader community on the various ways it could be tackled, as well as what might be the best-practices for building sites like mine in the future.

I’m a writer, and part of the site I’m building is planned to act as a portfolio of my writing. Some of that writing is going to be housed on-site, of course, but I think some of it is going to be housed off-site.

The problem: I want to be able to have all of the flexibility of normal front-matter, and use all of the same normal templating that’s built into the theme I’m writing (for which I’m using Ace, because it’s easier on my brain), while not having to have individual pages for items that are only going to be outbound links anyway. Where it would normally link to a page that would contain the content, it would simply link off-site, but the list pages would maintain all of the same ability to display anything that I would have otherwise been able to put in the front-matter of a normal page.

As Hugo is right now, it doesn’t give you a super easy way to do this that gives you the option to not actually build a page. You can create individual markdown files with no content, and set up the front matter that way, but no matter what you do in terms of template hacking and custom front matter to make the site do what you want, it will still build actual pages for each of those files and link them in your sitemap, for instance. This isn’t ideal.