Multiple blogs from a single source folder

I recently started playing with Hugo a bit more seriously than my first look a year or so ago. I’m totally impressed and intend to push forward with Hugo!

My 2 (related) questions:

1. I desire to publish multiple blogs but would like to maintain a single source (i.e. “ssot”) on my computer’s storage for centralized management and (especially) historical archiving.

The way I visualize this is to symlink such a “content” folder into each Hugo site’s content folder.

The key issue, however, is that I only wish to publish some of the “master” content in each blog (although my “personal” site will have every post).

At first look it seems I could do this with some variation of:
ignoreFiles = [ “\.foo$”, “\.boo$” ]
and come up with a clever file naming scheme (i.e. my_first_post.ALL.md, my_second_post.blog1.md, my_third_post.blog2.md . . . etc.).

Unfortunately, this seems to have two significant downsides: 1. it would make management cumbersome (particularly if I want to later add a post to a second blog – would require changing the filename) and 2. this would likely affect URLs (and if so, “permanent” links if the URL changes because I decide I want the post later published to a different set of blogs)

Therefore, is there a way to have Hugo publish/not publish based on a user-defined variable in the front matter?

On each post (in the “single source” folder described above) I envision a field like
publish_on: [individual variables like: ALL, blog1, blog2, blog3 … or a list like: blog1, blog2]

and then each individual site’s config.toml would specify which posts to publish (i.e. posts with front matter marked publish_on: blog1 or publish_on: blog2, etc.)