Hugo + Flarum forum platform

Hi All,

I have a Hugo static website and I would like to host it on netlify or Forestry due to performance. However, I want to integrate a PHP based forum engine (Flarum) within the site like, domain.com/forum. The mentioned two is for only static site, not php.

How can I solve this? The easiest would be a VPS, I know, but I have no experience in it.

Many Thanks!

Hi. It may not be possible on those services.

I use PHP for the following script on my website: https://www.psychedelicsdaily.com/MushroomCalculator.php?wet=1&mao=0

This script goes in /static/ directory in my Hugo project, and I just make an AJAX call to this script.

Then on server, of course you’d have to configure PHP env.

You could put the PHP software in /static and host it there, if you are hosting yourself on a VPS or something.

Since you want to host on Netlify or Forestry, they are I think static site hosts only, and probably do not allow php or python or a back-end.

This maybe of more help: https://community.netlify.com/t/common-issue-can-i-run-a-web-server-http-listener-and-or-database-at-netlify/3078

You can host the forum elsewhere, and link to it. You can put it on a VPS on forum.domain.com etc. or forward domain.com/forum to that forum host.

1 Like

This isn’t really a hugo thing.

As you’ve already mentioned, Netlify is for static sites only, so it doesn’t have a PHP interpreter connected to its web server. Forestry.io doesn’t host anything, it’s a frontend for SSGs.

What I’d do is run your PHP software on a different system (a VPS or web host which provides dynamic tools like a database, PHP, CGI etc.). And make domain.com/forum redirect to your forum, by creating a file - static/forum.html - and use html redirection to send visitors to your forum.

1 Like

Hash, funkydan, thank you very much for your reply!

Thanks for the idea, I would go for the idea that host the forum elsewhere and forward the visitors over there.