How to structure this site (see diagram)?

Hi.
I am a beginner and want to learn HUGO so that I can build my website. My website will need to have a CMS so I’m thinking about Netlify CMS for that. The site will contain three sections: two blogs (each with its own RSS feed) and one ‘digital garden’. (i.e. non-chronological pages on various themes). Each of these sections should have its own colour scheme. I have tried to diagram the basic site structure below…

While I get started learning HUGO, could you please tell me:

1. Whether this site structure is possible.
  2. How I should be thinking about structuring the setup. Any specific info that would be useful to know for the site structure I’m planning.

Thanks very much.
D

From a didactic stance the Hugo documentation is close to useless for beginners. No human on this planet has the mental capacity to get all the disorganized concepts together at once. This is by far not how learning works. So people are forced to go on a trail through the thick jungle of Hugo terms and patch a mental model of it together by themselves.

Which is quite bad honestly, because Hugo is a neat technology.

If you read my comments you’ll see that the numbers you point has no connection with your conclusions.

1 - Yes. This is basic.
2 - Just use sections as top level content + taxonomy for cat/dogs + basic menus to link to sections.

2 Likes

Hugo has a learning curve. But once you are out of that stage, everthing falls into place. Use this support forum to ask your questions before you abandon it. Eleventy is also a good choice.

Thank you for the replies. I had a bit of a sulk last night about getting started then eventually followed this tutorial and managed to get a basic demo site up and running. Hugo Beginner Tutorial — #1 Installing Hugo - YouTube

Now that I’ve done that I’m not really sure what do next. I may look for another tutorial.

Even trying to follow the quickstart I’m hitting errors.
After pasting in these commands: