Footnotes rendering from within a partial?

I’m trying to include a footnote in a partial I’ve created. The partial is super simple and essentially just wraps the {{ .Inner }} in a div. Something like this:

<div class="callout">{{ .Inner | markdownify }}</div>
{{< callout >}}
This is my content
{{< /callout > }}

This seems to work for most things I throw at it… except footnotes. Which completely fail to render. :frowning:

As a dev I can see why this might be the case but I don’t think it really should be intended behaviour? I tried to solve it by turning unsafe markup on and simply including the div html in my post markdown but then the renderer failed to process any markdown I had between the two divs.

Is there a potential solution?

Please show a complete example of your markdown, where the shortcode is used in conjunction with footnotes.

1 Like

Mmm. Bit difficult without a lot of cruft but I hope this clarifies.

{{< callout >}}
This is my content with a footnote[^1]
{{< /callout > }}

[^1]: This would be the footnote that you see.

I’m expecting to see on my page:

<div class="callout">
<p>
  This is my content with a footnote
  <sup id="fnref:1">
    <a href="#fn:1" class="footnote-ref" role="doc-noteref">
    </a>
  </sup>
</p>
</div>

<section class="footnotes" role="doc-endnotes">
<hr>
<ol>
  <li id="fn:1" role="doc-endnote">
    <p>
      This would be the footnote that you see. <a href="#fnref:1" class="footnote-backref" role="doc-backlink">↩︎</a>
    </p>
  </li>
</ol>
</section>

What I actually get is:

<div class="callout">
<p>
  This is my content with a footnote[^1]
</p>
</div>

Notice that not only does the link not get created but the footnote section is entirely missing.

You’ll have to do this instead:

{{< callout >}}
This is my content with a footnote
{{< /callout > }}[^1]

You will also need to prevent the superscript from jumping to the next line. You could do either of these in your shortcode:

1. Style the <div> to display inline.