Css file in public/ doesn't contain modifications to sass files

Hello,
I am building a website using the sam theme, which use hugo pipes and sass files.
When I make a modification to a sass file, like for example changing the background color, it is taken into account when doing locally hugo serve from the command line.
I am using netlify, and I manage to build the site without error, but the modifications to the sass files are not taken into account (ie the appearance remains like the default)
I have noticed that the .content file under resources/_gen/assets/sass/sass/ has the new color, but that the css file under public/css/ has the old color, meaning that for some reason the css file under public doesn’t include the modifications.
I thought it might have something to do with the links in the theme’s css.html, but I am not sure what to change.
I am still new to website building, css and hugo, and figuring it out. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

I haven’t dug everywhere, but looking at the partial you linked to, I don’t think the sam theme will use static/css/style.css, but instead uses the stylesheet built by hugo pipes (the one under resources/_gen/assets/sass/sass/ ).

I wonder if the problem you’ve got with netlify is to do with git submodules? How have you loaded the theme (i.e. is it a submodule)? How did you modify the SASS file?

If you’re using a submodule, you should be modifying the theme itself, but instead, override elements you want to change. So for example, if you want to make changes to the stylesheet, make a copy of the file in /themes/hugo-theme-sam/assets/sass and put them in /assets/sass. Then make modifications to your version of the stylesheet.

Thanks for your reply.
Yes, netlify requires to add hugo themes as a submodule, so that’s what I did.