Blank site when running a new theme (hugo-liftoff)

I’m new to Hugo (and Go). I am trying to setup a website using the Hugo-Liftoff theme and followed these instructions to set it up: 2. Getting Started · wjh18/hugo-liftoff Wiki · GitHub

However when I run the server, I see the warnings below and a blank site with Page not found:

~/code/website$ hugo server
port 1313 already in use, attempting to use an available port
Start building sites … 
hugo v0.115.1-857374e69358f788bd31ddc55255c5c8e3dcfd80+extended linux/amd64 BuildDate=2023-07-03T17:28:25Z VendorInfo=snap:0.115.1

WARN  found no layout file for "html" for kind "home": You should create a template file which matches Hugo Layouts Lookup Rules for this combination.
WARN  found no layout file for "html" for kind "taxonomy": You should create a template file which matches Hugo Layouts Lookup Rules for this combination.

| EN  
-------------------+-----
  Pages            |  3  
  Paginator pages  |  0  
  Non-page files   |  0  
  Static files     |  0  
  Processed images |  0  
  Aliases          |  0  
  Sitemaps         |  1  
  Cleaned          |  0  

Built in 7 ms
Watching for changes in /home/sandip/code/website/{archetypes,assets,content,data,layouts,static}
Watching for config changes in /home/sandip/code/website/config.toml
Environment: "development"
Serving pages from memory
Running in Fast Render Mode. For full rebuilds on change: hugo server --disableFastRender
Web Server is available at //localhost:36645/ (bind address 127.0.0.1)
Press Ctrl+C to stop

My Hugo version is:
hugo v0.115.1-857374e69358f788bd31ddc55255c5c8e3dcfd80+extended linux/amd64 BuildDate=2023-07-03T17:28:25Z VendorInfo=snap:0.115.1

What am I doing wrong?

That’s because the newer Hugo will use the hugo.* configuration file if present, and the hugo new site generated hugo.toml. So the solution is that append the theme = 'hugo-liftoff' into the hugo.toml instead of config.toml.

Read more on hugo.toml vs config.toml.