Advice on how to inspect a page context

I am a hugo newbie and I am learning a great many things by inspecting the runtime environment with printf statements. However, I often encounter variables that are some form of arrays or structs and I can’t figure out how to print those in a meaningful way. (For example as a list of keys or key/value pairs.)

# I've added this to my layout to inspect my current context.
{{ printf "%#v" . }}

# This gets me this somewhat useless output 
&hugolib.pageState{pageOutputs:[]*hugolib.pageOutput{(*hugolib.pageOutput)(0xc000be2480), (*hugolib.pageOutput)(0xc000be26c0), (*hugolib.pageOutput)(0xc000be2900), (*hugolib.pageOutput)(0xc000be2480), (*hugolib.pageOutput)(0xc000be26c0), (*hugolib.pageOutput)(0xc000be2900)}, pageOutput:(*hugolib.pageOutput)(0xc000be2480), pageCommon:(*hugolib.pageCommon)(0xc00086a500)}

My question: what is the data structure in the above example and how can I get more meaningful information on the runtime context?

In this particular instance, my bundle content isn’t showing and I would like to figure out if and how it was passed to the layout page.

1 Like

In addition to printf I guess there are two options:

1. {{ . | debug.Dump }}
  2. {{ . | jsonify (dict "indent" " ") }}
  • The first one doesn’t handle pointers very well, but works really well for many things.
  • The second one does not handle recursive object graphs very well (I think there is an open bug about that in Go, not sure what the status is).

That said, since the “.” in Hugo often is a Page and a Page references everything, I would recommend that you do these debug prints on a little more fine grained level, e.g. what you’re looking for {{ .Params | debug.Dump }}

Hmm, 1 returns output similar to my printf statement and 2 crashes on about everything I try it on.