Advice For A Beginner Needing More Than Quickstart, Less Than Specific Functionality

I’m very new to web development in general, but I had high hopes that once I learned the basics of HTML and CSS I would be able to use Hugo.

I made a simple website without Hugo that consists of a single HTML landing page and a single CSS stylesheet.

My goal is to be able to add blog posts using Hugo to this landing page. It’s not clear how I do that, and the documentation doesn’t give me a clear starting point.

Does my homepage need to be called _index.html and put in Layouts? What about my CSS? I was able to get the landing page to show up when using hugo server -D but it doesn’t seem to have applied my CSS. I put the CSS in the static folder as intended, and referenced it in index.html as <link rel="stylesheet" href="static/index.css"> but no luck. Where do I put the CSS? Where do I go from here? I’ve spent a number of hours combing through documentation and blog posts and I’m feeling totally lost.

Hello,

We cannot answer questions that are so broad in this forum. The Hugo Documentation (or at least the introductory sections) should be read in advance.

Please have a look at the Requesting Help guidelines.

The official introduction to Hugo is located in the following link:

OK, here’s my very specific question: how do I reference my CSS file that I have in static/style.css? Where in the documentation does it say that?

Thank you. What does “served on the site root” mean? Does that mean that it ignores directory structure?

No. It means that the staticDir refers to the site root. A file under /static/styles/theme.css will be available in: /styles/theme.css

While from 2017, Mike Dane’s Hugo tutorial is still highly relevant and useful.

4 Likes

This is good. Thank you.

Feeling a lot less lost now due to Mike Dane’s tutorials. What I was missing from the official Hugo documentation was an overview that was more than hugo new but less than granular advanced features.