[SOLVED] Where is the best location to place existing .css and .pdf files?

[I apologize if this is is a simple/stupid question, I’m fairly new to Hugo]

I am trying to convert an existing (dynamically generated) site into a static site generated by Hugo. There is a substantial amount of pre-existing css (and html) that I need to reuse. Much of the existing material refers to "/static/" locations (such as discussed here). The html has been translated to use appropriate paths (convert "/static/img/thing.png" and "/static/css/stuff.css" to "/img/thing.png" and "/css/stuff.css"), by placement into the proper directories for processing by templating.

But it is unclear to me how to get the references to static elements (such as image files) that exist in these static resources. Should I try to have the (static) css processed by templating, or do I need to just remove the "/static/" from these files, and otherwise leave them placed in the static/ directory? As a quick fix [hack], I copied the static/ tree to static/static/ and everything is rendering ok, but I suspect that there is a better, more Hugo-like approach.

For example, the following appears in a .css file,
background-image: url('/static/img/thing.png');

What is better, place the file somewhere to be processed by templating, or remove the "static" part of the url/path?
background-image: url('/img/thing.png');

And on a similar note, where is the best location to place .pdf files? These seem to be static content (at least for now), so I would think a directory that is not processed by templating would be best.

Any pointers to relevant posts would be helpful.

These previous discussions do mention approaches, but seem to suggest templating.
[https://discuss.gohugo.io/t/image-path/3033]
[https://discuss.gohugo.io/t/image-path-for-background-image/6263]

The /static folder simply translates to http://mysite.com/. The root of /static is copied by Hugo into the root of your site.