Would --noTimes and --noChmod options operate on page bundles files?

Hi,
I’m quite new to Hugo, discovered it a few weeks ago and I am already happy with it :slight_smile: .
I had an old php based Web site, becoming quite big and slow, and with some amount of scripting I managed to convert almost all of it to a brand new Hugo site, thank you very very much for all that great work !

My concern is about uploading the built site to my web host. I only have ftp, no possible ssh access to the server, and my site weights 1.2 Gbytes.
With my poor ADSL uplink throughput, I have for several hours uploading the full public dir.
With no SSH, I cannot use rsynch facilities to upload only the differential changes.

I have read almost all that has been written here and there about the --noTimes option, and I must say I have had some trouble understanding exactly its meaning, and the doc doesn’t help much.

After some experimentation, I found that the only thing almost working for me is: hugo --noTime=false , which preserves the time stamps on copied files to /public.

hugo => all files and folder have their time stamp set to copy time
hugo --noTimes => same
hugo --noTimes=true => same
hugo --noTimes=false => original time stamps are kept for static folder only

So it looks like the default is --noTimes=yes meaning No I don’t carry time stamps.

Anyway, this is a simple remark, my disappointment came when I realized that the scope of this is only the static folder … and I chose to use page bundles, which means that all my photos and other documents are spread across tenths of folders in the content directory…

Is there any mean for me to keep non changing files as they are when rebuilding the suite in order to minimize the upload ftp time ?

Thanks for reading me,
Christophe

I understand that you cannot use rsync to transfer files to your host, but:

1. Can you use it locally?
  2. Are you comfortable with the command line?

Hi,
Thanks for answering!