[SOLVED] Are static files updated when not changed?

I am building a medical education department site which will publish weekly blog post - each with 3 or 4 PDFs linked as static files (mainly slides and teaching evaluation reports). With time therefore the number of static files attached to the blog posts will grow.

Mechanism of publishing is via rsync or ftp.

My question: when I run hugo does it update static files in any way?

I would like to upload just the new static files and keep the previous ones in place, unless changed. I am afraid that every time hugo and upload script are run this may cause to re-upload past static files.

I am not a professional websit site developer or programmer - I am one of the teachers who is also a hugo enthusiast and I need to formulate some simple method for keeping up the site for others who will also publish, therefore I need to find out bets practice as to how to deal with larger number of static files attached to blog posts.

Thank you for your insights.

No… Hugo does not change static files.

I had sync problems with my server too.
My way ist to sync the Hugo source folder and build the side on the server.

As @alexandros said: No. But perhaps you meant if Hugo server is updating the static directory during his run if you add/remove files. Answer: Yes.

1 Like

In case a follow-up question is, can I only update pages that have changed, then yes, you can. You can see how I use rsync at Making a website: KISS my deployment goodbye - Webcraft - talkgroup. My deployment script is currently three lines:

tmpwatch -m -v 24 /tmp/hugo_cache/
hugo
rsync -uavh public/ interi:interi.org/

That only uploads files that have changed, but also other stuff, so just check your rsync parameters to make sure you are doing exactly what you want. For instance, I believe my parameters remove items not found in public, which may not be what you want. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hello,