Where are the HTML files?

I am new to hugo and maybe I totally missunderstand the term “static site generator”.

Based on md-files I want to create HTML files in a directory. I want to copy and access them on file system level. I want to read them via clicking on them (means open them via file:\\\) in a browser of my choice.

I do not want to run a server on my (or other) machine just to see my content.

“static” means for me “without a server”. In that case I have a bunch of HTML files and can do with them what ever I want: Use them local on my filesystem or load them up to a webserver.

Am I wrong here?

You are wrong. To develop you do hugo server so you can see how the pages work. With hugo you create a folder public that on your server will work properly.

Both cases won’t work with the file:// approach because the linked assets (images/styles) won’t work with the file protocoll.

Thanks for that tip.

Mhm… Let me ask direct: Is there a way to generate HTML content with hugo that would work with the file:// approach?

Yes, but it is not easy, particularly if you are using a theme that hasn’t been designed with this in mind.

https://discourse.gohugo.io/t/site-looks-fine-on-localhost-and-github-pages-but-not-when-rendering-to-public/35825/2

1 Like

It seams like that I have to do my own Python tool to generate (for me usable) HTML files (out of my org-roam-v2 files).

@Codeberg-AsGithubAlt To build upon the settings suggested by @jmooring in that post, I have created an example that you can clone and test by running hugo locally. See instructions on one of the example pages.

Relevant commit to make a site navigable offline: Make the site navigable with offline HTML (268e5cf7) · Commits · hugo-mwe / Hugo MWE · GitLab

The example also attempts to fix the issue with links back to homepage when looking at the content offline.