Theme Quality -Filter for Best Practices, SEO optimization, etc

Hi all,

Is there a way to rank theme quality in terms of best coding practices, page speed, SEO optimization, etc? Is there some kind of quality control for the themes?

Some of the themes are very good (After Dark) and some aren’t -and aren’t actively maintained!

Thanks,

All that’s really needed is someone to volunteer to do so and to commit to keeping the list up to date. Otherwise, as you point out, the ranking wouldn’t be actively maintained.

1 Like

I was thinking about this myself. It’s a daunting task, to be sure, but I think it would be possible to set some standards and highlight those that meet them. While the upfront work would be hard, doing so would likely lead to fewer support requests here in the forum. Maybe someone like @sethm who has created themes has ideas?

2 Likes

Just adding some things. I’m not a theme developer, so this might be obvious to those who do.

I’ve started to put together a Hugo version of the Wordpress “theme unit tests,” which are a variety of basic and edge-case pieces of content meant to test the versatility of a theme.

Thinking out loud here, but perhaps, with that there could be a repo of a sample site (I’ve already started one for my own work, and note there’s a basic example for theme display), and with that Hugo instance, there could be a checklist that shows:

1. Community Review, using the unit test content and a general review of the code with standards like
  • archetypes in place
  • more stuff here
  1. Run a Hugo benchmark command for build-performance.

2. External tests: webpagetest.org, Lighthouse, webdevchecklist, HTML proofer.
    *Note: as a user of these tests, I know they can be maddening. I think some minimum standard could be identified as acceptable.