The menu generated by `sectionPagesMenu` is not detecting Children items and does not seem to be Recursive in nature

Hi everyone! Hugo noob here, this is my first post so a few words first… Loving the system and finding the documentation to be REALLY robust - so, to all maintainers/advanced users, THANK YOU!

Second thing before I dive into details… This is a LONG post - I tried to make my question as clear and well illustrated as possible. If you’re looking for a TL;DR of this post, scroll to the bottom of the post and read the Conclusion section which outlines a summarised list of the actual questions I’m asking.

Third/last before continuing: THANKS IN ADVANCE!!! to whomever can help me figure things out here! :smile:

Alrighty… I’ve read over the Menu documentation. My question is either straight forward and simple OR, I may be encountering a bug with the latest version of Hugo… :man_shrugging:

What I was hoping: I was hoping that sectionPagesMenu would (with the “default” recursive template provided in the documentation) automatically generate nested menus.

What is happening: Only top level items are being rendered/picked up. When I dump site.Menus.main (using a <script> tag to view JSON rendering of site.Menus.main) I can see that top (top section) Menu objects that should have child items (site structure follows below), don’t.

Site/Content Structure

content/
├── _index.md
├── about.md
├── privacy-policy.md
├── terms-and-conditions.md
├── artwork
│   ├── _index.md
│   └── art-piece-00
│       ├── img
│       │   ├── primary
│       │   │   └── primary_768x1024_00.jpg
│       │   └── secondary
│       │   │   └── secondary_768x1024_00.jpg
│       │   │   └── secondary_768x1024_01.jpg
│       └── index.md
└── updates
    ├── _index.md
    ├── event1
    │   └── index.md
    ├── event2
    │   └── index.md
    └── event3
        ├── _index.md
        └── subevent1
            ├── event4.md
            └── event5.md

JSON Dump of site.Menus.main

[
    {