Suggestion to improve log file output of warnidf function to get cleaner logs

Hiho,

I am quite new to Hugo and struggled my way down with the template lookup rules… So I found warnidf and used it to output a warning if a block in baseof.html is not defined in the layout file. Helped me out a lot.

very cool that the warning can be suppressed :slight_smile:

Although it gives me the info I was looking for I suggest two changes to the output to make it more readable produce less noise.

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html lang="en">
   <head>
   </head>
   <body>
	  {{ block "missing" . }}
	  {{ warnidf "w-block-undefined" "undefined block for _defaults/baseof.html rendering page "}}
	  {{ end }}
      <main>{{ block "main" . }} {{ end }}</main>
   </body>
</html>

The output I get is:

hugo --cleanDestinationDir --gc --logLevel info
Start building sites …
hugo v0.123.6-92684f9a26838a46d1a81e3c250fef5207bcb735+extended windows/amd64 BuildDate=2024-02-28T18:29:40Z VendorInfo=gohugoio

INFO  static: removing all files from destination that don't exist in static dirs
INFO  static: syncing static files to \ duration 11.0497ms
INFO  build:  step process substep collect files 8 files_total 8 duration 511.1µs
INFO  build:  step process duration 511.1µs
INFO  build:  step assemble duration 0s
WARN  undefined block for _defaults/baseof.html rendering page
You can suppress this warning by adding the following to your site configuration:
ignoreLogs = ['w-block-undefined']
INFO  build:  step render substep pages site en outputFormat html duration 14.858ms

Wish

• omit the You can suppresss this warning message
    • it’s clearly stated in the fmt.Warnidf docs
    • I would suppose users implementing that, know about
    • an advanced feature.
  • change the output to automatically include the id
    • so in normal use case this will be a one liner that can be easily grabbed when parsing the logs.
    • fits to the loggin style

So utilization of warnidf would be like that: