Something is Escaping Me: Cannot Pick Up the Layout

Hello. I’ve been chugging merrily along build a site with Hugo - I’m a newbie here - and I thought I had a good understanding of how Hugo would pick up a new layout (I had worked through most of Hugo in Action before starting the site).

I needed to create a contact page with a specialized form on it; thus, I intended to create a new layout (themes/mine/layouts/contact/single.html) and a new leaf page bundle (content/contact/index.md). The index.md would contain some editable content, and look something like this:

title: "Contact Us"
subtitle: "We want to hear from you"
draft: false
menu:
    main:
        identifier: "contact"
        name: "Contact"
        weight: 500
        parent: ""
---

# Contact Us

You may contact NTA directly by phone during daylight hours by phone, or use the following form to send a message:

And the single.html would look something like this:

{{ define "main" }}

<div class="container mt-4">
<div class="row">
  <div class="col">
    {{ .Content }}
    <form action="...">...</form>
  </div>
</div>
</div>

{{ end }}

However, Hugo is not picking up the contact/single.html layout. It is just applying _default/single.html. I cannot for the life of me figure out how what I have misunderstood.

Versions:

hugo v0.91.2+extended darwin/amd64 BuildDate=unknown
go version go1.17.6 darwin/amd64

Thank you in advance.

content/contact/index.md

+++
title = 'Contact'
date = 2022-01-19T16:12:38-08:00
draft = false
layout = 'foo'
+++

Lookup order (first one wins):

1. layouts/page/foo.html
  2. layouts/_default/foo.html
  3. layouts/_default/single.html

Explanation

1. content/contact is not a section
  2. The .Kind and .Type of content/contact/index.md are page

See:
https://gohugo.io/templates/lookup-order

1 Like