Some pages not showing up

Greetings Programs!

I am just starting out with Hugo and so far, I am loving the concept. Currently, I am working on moving our company website from Joomla to Hugo. We didn’t need all the bells and whistles of Joomla, because we don’t change that much on our Website on a regular basis. We list our products and services (which is kept up to date of course) and we publish news once in a while, when there is something to report. We are a relatively small firm and thus don’t have something interesting (for the public) to report every day.

For the baseline:
I have worked with Joomla a fair bit - although this is not my primary work. I have adapted style sheets to meet my requirements, set up complete websites and so on. However I would not consider myself an expert by a very long shot! :slight_smile: I am a complete newbie to Hugo.

For the company Website I chose the “Universal” theme and copied the demo site as a basis to play with. I did adapt the theme a little bit (changing some of the colours, pics and the space for the company logo). Now I am adding content and failing miserably. First of all, I changed the main menu and the URLs it points to. No big deal so far. As an example, I created the URL site.com/about/_index.md. However, when I open that URL, there is (nearly) no content.The page’s title (as in the _index.md) is displayed but nothing else. The page is not marked as a draft and even if I copy the content of one of the other demo pages into that file, I get the same result.

Because of this I am guessing, that somewhere there is a list of sections telling Hugo how to display pages in each section. Is that correct? If so, I haven’t found that list yet. I imagine, it won’t be a big deal to tell Hugo to display everything behind /about as a simple website (no blog list or anything else).

Or am I missing something entirely here?

Best regards,
Chris

P.S. Sorry if this was a TL;DR post. :slight_smile:

Welcome to the Hugo forums!