Content not displaying

Hi, so I’m new to Hugo and still getting my ropes in understand how Hugo works.

I managed to install this theme http://themes.gohugo.io/type/

but somehow my content is not appearing

I clicked on About and the result is the same, just empty.

I even copied config.toml, content, post, data and static into my site below but there’s still no content.

I opened up one of the markdown files to see if there’s any problem with it but it renders perfectly fine in VSCode MD Preview

So I’m not sure why it’s not showing the content.

Thanks

Omar Tan

I manage to make the index.html to render properly, turns out I needed to replace my layouts folder which is weird as it wasn’t instructed that I needed to replace my layouts folder or do I get Hugo set up wrong? The first theme I installed was the Strata theme and it has a slightly different way of doing things then Type. I followed this guide btw

However, my about page is still not rendered

Okay, so it seems it has something to do with index.md as when I create a new file called about.md and copy paste the content from index.md, the page renders correctly. Any idea why does it work this way? Cause the tutorials certainly didn’t say so.

Hi, Omar, and welcome to the forums.

You’ve posted a lot of information, but it’s not clear what steps you actually took and what the issue is. Are you trying to set up a site on Netlify and having problems? Is it not working on your local computer? Which version of Hugo are you using? How did you create your site? Is it possible for you to put a copy of your site up on GitHub and post a link to it?

Thanks,
Mike

Hi,

So I managed to fix my issues but without some problems and I’ll explain what steps I did.

1. I followed this tutorial to set up my site initially, and it worked as intended A Step-by-Step Guide: Victor-Hugo on Netlify