[Solved] Using codefences does not obey pygmentsUseClasses setting

Hi all, this is my first post here and I am a noob at Hugo so please be patient.

I raised an issue on GitHub about this but @bep asked me to bring it over here.

In my site config.toml I have:

# Code Highlighting (uses Chroma but shares old config names for compatibility)
pygmentsCodefences = true
pygmentsUseClasses = true

And when I use the {{< highlight >}} tag all is well, things are highlighted as expected.

However, when using codefenses, the block is only wrapped with <pre><code> e.g.

<pre>
    <code class="language-go-html-template">
        {{ % code file="/static/some-script.js" language="js" %}}
   </code>
</pre>

And this does NOT enable the highlight classes.

Can anyone point me in the right direction for fixing this because it is a massive pain as I am trying to migrate from a Jekyll site and a WordPress site and having to go through all of the posts and pages fixing them to use the highlight tag won’t be pretty. Nor will having to always type in the highlight tag for future posts.

Here is an example online from my test site:

The problem is illustrated at the end of the page.

Thanks in anticipation - JK.

Well. OK, I’ve solved it myself - I started debugging why Disquss wasn’t working either.

I ended up trying moving the entries in config.toml further up the page.

Guess what, that worked!!! But I’ve no idea why.

Here is the relevant section of my config

# Code Highlighting (uses Chroma but shares old config names for compatibility)
pygmentsCodefences = true
pygmentsUseClasses = true 
pygmentsCodefencesGuessSyntax = true
#pygmentsStyle = "monokai"

# Disqus shortcode
# Disable comments for any individual post by adding "comments: false" in its frontmatter
disqusShortname = "muchadoaboutit"

[permalinks]
  # Configures post URLs
  posts = "/:year/:month/:slug"
  #pages = "/:slug"
  kbs = "/kb/:slug"
  #categories = "/topics/:slug"
  #tags

[author]
  # Site author(s)