[SOLVED] Static file in theme not copied to `public`

I’m a frontend designer new to Hugo and creating a theme from scratch.

In the documentation it says:

Everything in the static directory will be copied directly into the final site when rendered

But nothing in /themes/indiego/static is being copied to /public/ :disappointed:, despite this encouraging message from hugo serve:

Static file changes detected
2018-02-06 13:14:12.066 +0000
Syncing logo-thumbnail.png to /

My guess is that I need to configure this behaviour in config.yml? I’ll keep searching through the docs in the meantime :slight_smile:

Site repo: GitHub - growdigital/indiego: Socially aware Hugo blog boilerplate, with modular CSS
Theme repo: GitHub - growdigital/indiego: Socially aware Hugo blog boilerplate, with modular CSS

Permissions! I thought to run $ hugo serve --verbose and received these messages:

INFO 2018/02/06 13:25:13 Received System Events: ["/Users/growdigital/Sites/indiego.org.uk/static/logo-thumbnail.png": CREATE]

Static file changes detected
2018-02-06 13:25:13.436 +0000
Syncing logo-thumbnail.png to /
INFO 2018/02/06 13:25:14 Received System Events: ["/Users/growdigital/Sites/indiego.org.uk/static/logo-thumbnail.png": CHMOD]
INFO 2018/02/06 13:25:18 Received System Events: ["/Users/growdigital/Sites/indiego.org.uk/static/.DS_Store": CHMOD "/Users/growdigital/Sites/indiego.org.uk/static/.DS_Store": WRITE "/Users/growdigital/Sites/indiego.org.uk/static/.DS_Store": WRITE]
INFO 2018/02/06 13:25:33 Received System Events: ["/Users/growdigital/Sites/indiego.org.uk/static/.DS_Store": WRITE]

I installed Hugo with brew, so would be surprised if there’s a permissions issue. But not that surprised!

Not sure if I understand correctly, but the files won’t get copied into the public/ dir when running hugo server (they actually are, but in some temp directory).

Do the files get copied when you run just hugo?