[SOLVED] New Theme Not Rendering

I’m brand new to Hugo and would like to get a new theme off the ground. But none of the changes I make to the theme files seem to render. In fact, nothing seems to render at all. I created a new project:

hugo new site test

and created a new theme:

cd themes
hugo new theme test

My config.toml looks like

baseURL = "http://example.org/"
languageCode = "en-us"
title = "My New Hugo Site"
theme = "test"

And now my directory structure looks like this:

├── archetypes
│   └── default.md
├── config.toml
├── content
├── data
├── layouts
├── public
│   ├── categories
│   │   └── index.xml
│   ├── index.xml
│   ├── sitemap.xml
│   └── tags
│       └── index.xml
├── resources
├── static
└── themes
    └── test
        ├── LICENSE
        ├── archetypes
        │   └── default.md
        ├── layouts
        │   ├── 404.html
        │   ├── _default
        │   │   ├── baseof.html
        │   │   ├── list.html
        │   │   └── single.html
        │   ├── index.html
        │   └── partials
        │       ├── footer.html
        │       ├── head.html
        │       └── header.html
        ├── static
        │   ├── css
        │   └── js
        └── theme.toml

I made some changes to the head and header partial (added a head and title, and a “Hello, world!”, respectively) but they don’t show when I use hugo server. I’ve also edited the baseof.html with the same info the same thing happens. I’ve downloaded the Ananke theme and that shows up even with no content to the site, though sometimes it persists even if I shut down the server, delete the ananke theme and change the config.toml, and restart the server.

Has anyone got a clue as to what I’m doing wrong?

I’m pretty sure the test theme is very bare. It gives you the necessary files but they’re empty.

To get started, put some valid HTML in themes/test/layouts/index.html and run hugo server, and you should see the output at localhost:1313.