Redlounge theme: How to make pages?

Hi, everyone,

I’m new to this Hugo thingy, mainly using other systems but interested in using Hugo for a mostly static website for a part of my development projects.

I found the redlounge theme to suit my needs, I thoroughly followed the official documentation to try and add new content pages. However, everything is rendered as articles.

I made a “welcome” post (hugo new post/welcome.md) which appears as a post on Hugo’s “home” page. (However, it is only displayed as an excerpt. Is there an option to show the full article instead?) Then I tried to make a new page which should be displayed with the default Home page in the sidebar: hugo new page.md - which created just another article.

I’m lost. Can anyone help me? :-/

1 Like

Nice avatar. One of my favorite bands and albums.

Hugo’s a great choice, and welcome.

I’m sure in the docs (not the readme for redlounge but also the doc site) have this but,

• posts go in mysite/content/post/whatever.md
  • articles go in content/another.md

I kept re-reading the docs and finally started to get it. It took a while, but maybe I’m just slow.

1 Like

Thanks. I also like the overall facial expression. :wink: And thanks for the warm welcome.

Well, my current setup actually is having two *.md files in /content and one in /content/post, but the parser handles all of them as posts. (Sorry, I mixed up the wording, my blog has been WordPress since 2005… I meant: the two files should be “articles” (which equals “pages” in Hugo, right?) and the third one should be a “post”.)

Not 100% sure on the terminology, but, this page has a decent explanation:

1 Like

In fact, have a read of that whole section. It’s a combination of the folder structure, with the way you structure and name your templates. ANy theme you use, will make assumptions about this, but it’s easy enough to restructure.

1 Like