Range modified pages and count them properly [SOLVED]

I have a potentially embarrassing issue.

I use lastmod in front matter for the purpose of listing recently changed content.

I have the following code:

<div class="d-none d-lg-block">
<div class="card-deck">
{{ range first 7 (where .Site.Pages.ByLastmod.Reverse "Section" "star")  }}
{{ if not (eq .Title "Star") }}
{{ if not (eq .Date .Lastmod) }}
<div class="card card-recent card-img-top mb-2">
{{ partial "recent-content-image-card" . }}
<div class="card-body">
{{ partial "recent-content-text-card" . }}
</div> 
</div><!-- /card --> 
{{ end }}
{{ end }}
{{ end }}
</div><!-- /deck -->

It works and all. The problem is, when i add new content, i have to manually correct (increase by 1) range first X or it only shows last two. I want it to show last 3.

The problem is probably in “skipping the content” and me not knowing how the counting is done. More specifically, i think the problem is where it checks whether or not the lastmod is same as the date. This is done to prevent listing of new content or unchanged content.

The code i made seems to be inadequate to handle that.

Anyone with an idea on how to improve the code so there will be no need for manual corrections?

Try doing your filtering beforehand:

{{ $pages := where .Site.Pages.ByLastmod.Reverse "Section" "star" }}
{{ $pages = where $pages ".Title" "ne" "Star" }}
{{ $pages = where $pages ".Date" "ne" ".Lastmod" }}
{{ range first 7 $pages }}

Hmm ok.

I do {{ $pages := where .Site.Pages.ByLastmod.Reverse "Section" "star" }} and get all results as expected.
Then i do {{ $pages := where $pages ".Title" "ne" "Star" }} and get 1 less result, all ok.
Then i do {{ $pages := where $pages ".Date" "ne" "Lastmod" }} and get 0 results, not expected. :thinking:

Skipping the date check i do the {{ range first 3 $pages }} and it works, even if i add or remove content it shows 3. That is great. However it also shows content i added last, that has not been modified.