Quick start: simple mardkdown

This is a suggestion for improving the Quick Start.

I am new to Hugo. Since I am new to this forum, I will omit links since I will likely not be allowed to anyway.

I tried the Quick Start. I wanted to just make a simple link. I looked in the Content Organization page of Content Management but that describes refs and stuff that does not seem to be what I wanted. I used Google to find a totally different website that gives the markdown used by many other systems.

Since Hugo is derived from Jekyll I suppose I should have known that Hugo uses the same markdown, at least for the simple stuff, but I think it would help for the Quick Start to give some kind of an indication of where to look for the markdown.

1 Like

@Sam_Hobbs I am also new to Hugo, but I have used Jekyll for a while now.

They are totally different and none derives from the other. Jekyll uses Ruby (and Liquid) as a template language (is that the correct term?) while Hugo uses Go.

Only the content folder uses markdown in Hugo (as far as I know anyway).

Try [an example of a link](/your-link).

Markdown tutorial.

Somewhere I read that the developers of Hugo developed it due to frustration with Jekyll. So it is a matter of what derived means. Since that is off-topic here I won’t try to explain.

I said I found that already. I am suggesting that the Quick start be improved. I have added clarification to my original post.

I have read the founder’s blog several times the last two days, including the launch of Hugo and nowhere is this mentioned. I needed to clarify that, from one new Hugo user to another.

On your Quick Start guide question, see adding content. (Maybe more knowledgeable people will answer you better).

Choosing a static site generator for a personal site says Just like Hugo was written by a dev frustrated with Jekyll. That might not be accurate but that is why I said what I said.

That’s your answer right there. I have seen that article before.