Permission denied: config.toml

I’ve been using Hugo for a couple of months, built some test sites, now working on a personal photo album–it’s great and I love it. I’m a Windows user but have dabbled with Linux long enough to understand basic commands, file permissions, and so forth. My test sites and first forays with Hugo have been using WSL (Windows Subsystem for Linux), then I moved everything to a dedicated Linux box. After testing some initial scripts using GitHub actions and a self-hosted runner on Linux, I’m setting up a Raspberry Pi 3 with Ubuntu Server 64-bit and getting excited about automating the upkeep of several websites.

After installing Ubuntu and adding a USB-connected external drive to store the files for the websites and modifying /etc/fstab to autoload and running chown -R <myuser> * && chgrp -R <myuser> * to make sure all files were completely owned by my user account, I followed the recommended installation instructions by installing snap then using snap to install Hugo–it seemed to install quickly and smoothly.

With my repository pulled down from GitHub, I ran Hugo for the first time but immediately got the following error:

Error: "/blah/blah/blah/config.toml:1:1": open /blah/blah/blah/config.toml: permission denied

I double-checked file permissions, all files are read/write by user/group/world, files owned by me; I created a test folder and test file, edited, deleted file and folder, edited config.toml, renamed to hugo.toml, renamed back, kept running Hugo after each change, rebooted, tried again–all same error.