Newbie : Using Hugo, Asciidoc, and the Techdoc Theme

Hi,

I am reviewing static site generators. I am new to Hugo. I have been using asciidoc (python) for many years so I thought I would try Hugo and its’ support for asciidoctor. All my documents are technical with source inclusions, code snippets, and reference tables. I am still considering whether to stay with asciidoc or convert to markdown. The features I like about asciidoc are the = titles, .subtitles, delimited blocks (listing, literal, sidebar, comment, pass-through, quote, example, admonition) lists, [ ] attributes, and |= tables that support formatting and spanning.

So far I have gone through the Hugo Quick-Start, brought over 1 asciidoc document for testing and changed the theme to Techdoc.

I added the following to the .toml file to use asciidoc.

# To use asciidoctor
[security.exec]
allow = ["^asciidoctor$"]

I have a few questions and would like to confirm that I’m heading in the right direction. At this time, I’d like to keep things local.

1. Does indentation mean anything in a .toml file or is it just for human-readability?

2. The Quick Start created a hugo.toml file. I have seen the name config.toml. What are the rules for naming the .toml file? Can I name it anything and as long as it ends with .toml Hugo will find it?

3. The Quick Start added a document under the directory “posts” for a blog. When I started using the Hugo theme Techdoc, it wanted documents under “doc”. I thing I found that out when my asciidoc document (still under posts) didn’t appear in the html, so I viewed the source html. Is this a hugo thing or a theme thing, and what should I be reading to understand where things go?

4. As I scrolled down the page for the Hugo theme Techdoc, it showed features for “Theme Color”, “Menu Style” but I could not find any additional documentation on how to use/configure them. How do I change the theme color and where is that documented?