New site misses theme css/img files

I am totally new to Hugo and use a Win7 machine with cygwin. I have go 1.5.3 installed and working with other Go apps.
I was able to install hugo from source and hugo version returns v0.16-DEV

I went through the following basic steps

• hugo new site ./site
  • installed base16 in themes
  • created a new post with hugo new post/welcome.md
  • ran hugo server from the site folder

I notice that the theme should contribute img and css files but they’re missing from the public folder…
The result is a broken site without theme but working links…
My config.toml is below (fairly basic, baseURL is ignored by hugo server anyway)

languageCode = "en-us" title = "My base16 Hugo Site" theme = "base16"

I am running out of ideas… and might have omitted some fundamental step…
TIA

Could you please share a tree view of your site’s directory? It will help us debug the issue.

I just tried base16 with my blog using the 0.15 pre-compiled Windows binary and it worked.

Also try running the server using the --renderToDisk command, there are some issues with rendering from memory on some platforms.

Sorry one more edit: As far as I know hugo server does not create anything in the public directory by default. Just run hugo to generate the site and populate the public directory.

It could we a path issue re. Cygwin. Try to build your site from the regular cmd prompt in Windows.

Thank you for the responses! I had tried from a cmd box as well. Same result.

The tree under site is below
. |-archetypes |-content |---post |-data |-layouts |-public |---css |---img |---post |-----welcome |-static |-themes |---base16 |-----archetypes |-----images |-----layouts |-------_default |-------partials |-----static |-------css |-------img

output of hugo server -v is below