New Session cannot create pages after hardware restart

Hey guys and gals, So im pretty new to hugo, and ive created a simple site, after i log off or turn off my system im unable to get hugo to see that i have a working site directory, instead when i want to create a new page with the templated information it tells me i need to create a site in order to do that action, But im already in the directory. How do you go about going from one project to another, surely there is a way to redo this with out having to create a new site every time i want to work on my pages? Thanks for your help in advanced, i looking forward to your response!

Also is there a discord for this community or is this just the only place to get assistance or to speak / collaborate with other users of hugo?

Kind regards

This is the official support forum for Hugo.

Have you read the Quick Start Guide?

If you haven’t please check it out.

Hugo is not a process that autostarts after a system boots up, you need to execute the hugo or hugo server commands in a terminal from a directory that has the structure that Hugo expects for website to be generated.

Yes i have read the basics, its just not clear exactly (at least not immediately clear to me) how to resume. when ever i run the commands it tells me i dont have anything and im like sitting in the directory inside of console where the site is, hugo just wont see it and asks me if i want to make a new site

The error is specifically this:

Error: Unable to locate config file or config directory. Perhaps you need to create a new site.

What OS are you using? Have you opened the console in the project directory?