Multilingual site - index.html - how to localize?

I’m writing my first multilingual site. I have my language selector working and my menu working.

I’m using a single domain name.

I can’t figure out how to render localized content in index.html. I’m using a custom theme. My index.html file content is very typical. It references several partials for the sections.

I’m very new to multilingual so forgive me for not knowing how to ask the correct question.

I don’t know how to localize content in my theme. Is this what I have to do? Or is there a way for the theme to pull localized partial content from the website?

I’ve found some example sites but can’t find a working one with localized content for index.html.

I’ve spent a day trying to find a working example that shows a simple site that has more than one language and the home page (index.html) shows different content for each language.

Thank you in advance for your assistance, greatly appreciated,

Karl Shifflett
Currently living and serving in Mykolaiv, Ukraine. (for real, I moved here to help during the war)

I just had that issue. I made two md pages:

/content/home.md
/content/home.de.md

In the frontmatter the title must be for all languages:

title: "Home"

Next, in:

/layouts/index.html

I have:

{{ define "main" }}
<article>
    {{ range where .Data.Pages "Title" "Home" }}
    {{ .Content | absLangURL }}
    {{ end }}
  </article>
{{ end }}

That work for me. I am sure there are other/better ways.

1 Like

So simple for sure. Thank you, greatly appreciate your response. Bless you, Karl

There are three ways:

• by filename, the one mentioned already: filename.LANGcode.md
  • by content directory: /content/ja/ or /content/japanese/ (it doesn’t matter if you use the Lang Code or full name, or anything)
  • by bypassing default linking (a.k.a. by using translationKey frontmatter). (No matter where your files are located, they’ll be linked together as long as they have the same translationKey.)