Make many files avaliable to download

I am new to web development and have recently started a project in Hugo. The project is a documentation page where I will upload materials from my program in university (lecture notes, old exams…).

I have created the page and now I want to upload the files and I have a few questions regarding this.

I am looking to create a shortcode in order to access the pdfs. However, I dont know how I should go about this.

Is it possible to somehow connect and get the files from a file hosting site, for example google drive, where I upload the files and the shortcode can access the files from there?

Or is it good to have all the contents from the course inside the “project” and access it from there? There are a lot of files and pdfs, and the number will increase since I am planning to do this with other uni programs aswell.

Im very new to this and looking for any directions to go about this. I have not even been able to access a single file, I have tried ref and relref with no success…

If you are asking how to add links to external resources: you can look up what the markdown syntax is for links.

Whether you have your files inside your project or not is up to you. Keep in mind file and project size limitations of whichever git/hosting solution you use.

I would suggest you go through Recommended Reading Reference and start with a small Hello World project first.

1 Like