Internal link inside the footer.html file

Hello,

I’m quite new to Hugo (after a couple of years on Jekyll).

I’d like to insert an internal link inside the /layouts/partials/footer.html file.
This link would lead to a page named colophon located at content/colophon/colophon.md.
All my attempts have been fruitless.
Here they are:

The first line of code I inserted was:

[colophon]{{< ref "/colophon/colophon.md" >}}

It yielded an ERROR message in the terminal:

parse failed: template: partials/footer.html:18: unexpected “<” in command

Ditto with:

[colophon]({{< relref “colophon.md” >}})

I renamed the file colophon.html and successively tried:

<a href="colophon.html"> colophon </a>
 <a href="/colophon/colophon.html"> colophon </a>
 <a href="content/colophon/colophon.html"> colophon </a>

The link (i.e. the word colophon) would show in the footer, but clicking on it returned a 404 page not found.

I feel I’m missing something very simple and obvious.

I looked up in the Hugo documentation, to no avail.

I’d be grateful if someone would tell me what I’m doing wrong.

Thanks!

Hi there,

Do you mean you inserted this into the layouts/partials/footer.html file?

This line is in markdown syntax, and is meant to be used inside your markdown content file, not from a layout file.

What does your config file look like?

By default, Hugo will render a page at content/foo/bar/baz.md to yoursite.com/foo/bar/baz/index.html, unless you have uglyURL configured.

There may be other things going on in addition to these issues, but you should try in your layout/... file, to add this:

<a href="/colophon/colophon/">Link to Colophon</a>

It is generally easier to help you if you had your site code somewhere we can have a look at. Have a read about Requesting Help

1 Like

HI pointyfar,

I followed your advice:

There may be other things going on in addition to these issues, but you should try in your layout/... file, to add this:

<a href="/colophon/colophon/">Link to Colophon</a>