Inline content from a static file for highlighting in post content

Hi. I am in the process of migrating my web site from WordPress to Hugo. I am looking for a way to inline content from a local static file for highlighting in post content. I am really new to Hugo and still learning everyday.

In my wordpress posts, I used the Crayon Syntax Highlighter plugin in order to insert highlighted code examples. This plugin allowed me to refer to a local file path instead of embedding the actual code within the post itself. In other words, if the code had to be changed, I did not had to edit all posts that referred the file, locate the inline code and make the changes.

I am looking for a way to do something similar with Hugo.

I tried to use a dummy shortcode to read a file and output its content as markdown :

{{
$path := .Get "file" }}{{
$content := readFile $path }}{{
print $content }}

and in my post, I tried multiple ways to call the shortcode:

# Test 1 - code fence with cpp (comments)
```cpp
int a = 0;
{{< inline_static_file file="/static/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/guess.cpp" >}}
string c;
```

# Test 2
```cpp 
int a = 0;
/* {{< inline_static_file file="/static/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/guess.cpp" >}} */
string c;
```

# Test 3
{{< highlight cpp "linenos=table,hl_lines=8 15-17,linenostart=199" >}}
{{< /highlight >}}

# Test 4
```
```

None of the tests above seems to have worked.

• In test #1, the shortcode did not output anything. I only see the c++ code from the post: int a = 0; and string c;.
  • In tests #2, now the c++ content is printed as a multi-line comment. If i remove the /* */, I end up like in test #1.
  • In test #3 the c++ code seems to have been converted to HTML. The highlight section shows literal &lt; and &#34;. The double quotes were converted to their matching HTML entities as if it was the actual content of guess.cpp.