Hugo 101: variables

I am new to Hugo and frontend in general. I am struggling to understand how Hugo variables work. I went through the Giraffe Academy tutorial. I tried to read the documentation, but it is really confusing for the beginner. How I should approach learning about the basics? Do I need to know Go programming language in order to use Hugo on a basic level? I am trying to build a blog and I am considering switching back to Jekyll. Would appreciate any pointers or direction.

You may want to try zwbetz’s excellent tutorial.

Make a Hugo blog from scratch tips & tricks

Copied from the tutorial intro: In my opinion, Hugo’s current quick start is ample. It does just what the name says, gets you started you quickly . Still, there have many requests on the forums for a tutorial that dives deeper than the quick start, and gets into some templating basics. The thing you’re reading is my go at that. Starting from scratch, we’ll build a Hugo blog. The finished product will be a stripped-down version of the vanilla bootstrap theme. For the folks out there thinkin…

And Mike Dane’s Youtube series for a quick start.

And recommended reading:

1 Like

Thanks for the resources. I already went through Mike Danes tutorials. I know html/css/terminal. My biggest question is about understanding the Hugo varaibles and how to use Go templating language. Do i need to learn foundations of go languge to understand what is happening on the basic level? How to approach learning how to use some of the most common variables and scopes like: Page, Site, with, {{.}}, isset, render etc.

No, you don’t need to. To begin with, you just need to know the “kind” of the variable. It’s usually one of the below (coming from the perspective of a non-Go coder):

1. scalar (regular variable)
  2. Slice (array) [ From what I read online, Go slices are different from Go arrays, but that detail didn’t matter when learning Go templating. ]