How do I get plural content Url using singular content type?

Hi, I am new to Hugo and I am trying to implement a requirement related to the content type. Issue is that I want to declare content type in the singular form (for example “album”, “event”) but I want content URL in the plural form (
something like /albums/newyork/ or /events/newyork/). I am wondering if there is any config setting in Hugo for this kind requirement.

I currently have a content type with the type “albums” and it’s working great and I can open rendered page as http://localhost:1313/albums/newyork/. But, if I declare the type as “album” and I have to stick with the Url like
http://localhost:1313/album/newyork/ which I don’t want.

I am coming from WordPress so it’s kind of learning curve for me to make Hugo work as per my requirement. Any lead or workaround is much appreciated. Thank you.

UPDATE:
To provide additional information, my Hugo project folder looks like following:

content
  albums
    newyork
    newjersey
themes
  journal
    layouts
      albums

The content of above markdown files look like following:

content > albums > newyork > index.md
---
title: New York
name: newyork
date: 2017-08-19T22:36:50-04:00
categories: ["landscape"]
type: albums
description: Nunc blandit nisi ligula magna sodales lectus elementum non. Integer id venenatis velit.
---

content > albums > newjersey > index.md
---
title: New Jersey
name: newjersey
date: 2017-08-19T22:36:50-04:00
categories: ["landscape"]
type: albums
description: Nunc blandit nisi ligula magna sodales lectus elementum non. Integer id venenatis velit.
---

You can change all the permalinks for an entire section in your config. In your case you’d do something like:

permalinks:
  album: /albums/:title/

Let me ask ya, why are you declaring it an “album” content type? I hardly ever need to declare content type, and considering you are new to Hugo, I am wondering if you are creating work for yourself. :slight_smile: