Help with Customizing beautifulhugo theme

Hello,

I am new to Hugo and this is my first time creating a site. I am using the beautifulhugo theme and it has as a default the blog feed in the homepage. How can I remove the blog feed from the homepage?

I would also like to change the default body font from Lora to Crimson Text from google fonts. I tried following the same advice from previous posts but was not able to see a change. How may I change just the body font of the theme?

To customise bits of the theme, you can override certain files that comes with the theme.

For example…if you want to change the font which is used, you’ll need to edit main.css.

My workflow for doing this is to copy main.css from /themes/beautifulhugo/static/css to /static/css and then edit the css file. When hugo creates your site, it’ll use files from /static before /themes/<themename>/static. (This is better practice than just editing the theme directly.)

And it’s the same deal if you want to change the layout of index.html - make a copy, and have a fiddle. Though, IMHO, if you don’t want the front page to be a blog feed I’d start with a theme that doesn’t have that kind of design…there’s plenty in the theme repository.

Thank you for the help. I tried already altering the copied main css file in the static folder based on what I read on previous posts but I did not see a change. I also already tried editing the index.html file I copied into the static folder but I did not see a change either. I already searched multiple times in the theme repository for themes with no blog feed in the front page but I could not find any that I liked. Most of the themes that I liked had the blog feed in the homepage. I also tried the academic theme but that did not work out for me so I ended up finally this theme.

Are you able to put your code in a public repository and post the link?

To echo @funkydan2, please read Requesting Help