Changing Theme of One-Click Hugo Install on Netlify CMS

Hello, Hugo People:

1. I am a static-site generator newbie with a free Netlify CMS hosted site running Hugo through their one-click installation which seems to be their customization of a boilerplate/framework/starter-kit called Victor Hugo

2. The default theme provided with this installation is Kaldi but I would like to change it

3. Unfortunately, Victor Hugo is different than “plain” Hugo so the regular theme changing instructions for Hugo don’t apply to Victor Hugo – namely, there is no “themes” folder in Victor Hugo

4. After four hours now of researching, I’ve finally been told to simply create my own “themes” folder in my Netlify CMS one-click install of (Victor) Hugo and, presumably, carry on following regular instructions for changing Hugo themes – namely, edit config.toml and point it to my preferred theme

5. Unfortunately, this isn’t working; Netlify CMS and/or Victor Hugo seems to be pulling information from somewhere else other than the “themes” folder and/or config.toml file – I still see the default Kaldi theme

So does anyone know how I can change the theme here? I’m totally flummoxed.

My Hugo site’s repo is at https://github.com/daveydaves/one-click-hugo-cms – I’ve thoroughly checked for typos and the like so thanks for any insight!

I should note, FWIW, that I’ve changed my Netlify CMS-website’s URL from its nonsensical Netlify CMS-assigned default…I doubt this is the issue but I’m raising it in case it’s actually a factor somehow. Thanks again.

I think the “theme” being used by your site is set in two places

1. site/layouts/(for all the html)
  2. src/css and src/js