Bundling Material Design Node Module Components using Hugo Pipes without Webpack

I’m pretty new to web development and I’m trying to build a static blog from scratch with Hugo, in which I wanna use Google’s Material Design Components.

They recommend using their node modules and bundling the Sass & JS using Webpack in their “Getting Started” page.

The steps on that page (and their Codelabs Tutorial) don’t work out right away, so I tried to learn some Webpack basics, and managed to write this webpack.config.js which makes the components work (i.e., in a basic static site without Hugo):

const path = require("path");
const autoprefixer = require("autoprefixer");
const loader = require("sass-loader");

module.exports = {
    entry: "./src/index.js",
    devServer: {
        static: "./dist",
    },
    module: {
        rules: [
            {
                test: /\.s[ac]ss$/i,
                use: [
                    "style-loader",
                    "css-loader",
                    {
                        loader: "postcss-loader",
                        options: {
                            postcssOptions: {
                                plugins: [autoprefixer()],
                            },
                        },
                    },
                    {
                        loader: "sass-loader",
                        options: {
                            implementation: require("sass"),
                            webpackImporter: false,
                            sassOptions: {
                                includePaths: ["./node_modules"],
                            },
                        },
                    },
                ],
            },
        ],
    },
    output: {
        filename: "bundle.js",
        path: path.resolve(__dirname, "dist"),
        clean: true,
    },
};