Blogroll/Website List in Right Sidebar?

Hey there,
I’m new to Hugo (entirely). I’m using the hugo-icarus-theme, which is very nice so far. I have it generally set up as a decent framework to start doing stuff with it and I’m wondering: how can I add a small “favorite sites” to the right hand side? I just want to add a few sites there. I actually searched for how to it, and I honestly couldn’t find anything specific, which is odd. So I’m asking in here - hope that’s okay. Maybe I used the wrong search terms. I know it’s probably in some partials file, but I just have no idea which one or where or what to put in.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you all for reading and for any help.

You have to tune the theme templates and CSS.

Read first:

1 Like

Thank you. I’ll read that and see what I can figure out.

Your theme already have a sidebar so you only need to populate it.

Start by adding a new favourite content type, i.e. create a new directory inside the “content” directory. Lets name it “favourite” for this example.

Add all the favourites you need, one content post for each. A post could be as simple as this, only frontmatter with title and link.

---
title: "Example"
link: "https://www.example.org/"

---

Now you need to update your layout templates to render these favourite links.

Inside your root layouts directory create

1. partials/widgets/favourites.html. Maybe something like this.
<ul>
{{ range where .Pages "Type" "favourite" -}}
{{ .Render "link" }}
{{ end -}}
</ul>
  1. _default/link.html, see “link” in the render statement above. Simplest version is.
<li><a href="{{ .Params.Link }}">{{ .Title }}</a></li>

(Since link is a custom variable in the frontmatter it’s accessed via .Params.)