Blank white page when connecting to localhost:1313

Hiya,
I’m very new to creating websites.

I’m following the giraffe academy tutorials to download the giraffe academy theme at https://github.com/giraffeacademy/ga-hugo-theme.

It looks like I have set everything up including editing the config file. But when I use ‘hugo server’ it does not work properly. As a result when I go to localhost:1313 is it a blank white page - no errors.

I’ve tried using a different theme and got the same result so I don’t think the theme is at fault.

Here is the message I get in cmd:

c:\Hugo\first_site>hugo server
Building sites … WARN 2019/04/15 18:31:11 found no layout file for "HTML" for "home": You should create a template file which matches Hugo Layouts Lookup Rules for this combination.
WARN 2019/04/15 18:31:11 found no layout file for "HTML" for "taxonomyTerm": You should create a template file which matches Hugo Layouts Lookup Rules for this combination.
WARN 2019/04/15 18:31:11 found no layout file for "HTML" for "taxonomyTerm": You should create a template file which matches Hugo Layouts Lookup Rules for this combination.

| EN
+------------------+----+
  Pages            |  3
  Paginator pages  |  0
  Non-page files   |  0
  Static files     |  0
  Processed images |  0
  Aliases          |  0
  Sitemaps         |  1
  Cleaned          |  0

Total in 550 ms
Watching for changes in c:\Hugo\first_site\{content,data,layouts,static}
Watching for config changes in c:\Hugo\first_site\config.toml
Environment: "development"
Serving pages from memory
Running in Fast Render Mode. For full rebuilds on change: hugo server --disableFastRender
Web Server is available at http://localhost:1313/ (bind address 127.0.0.1)
Press Ctrl+C to stop
WARN 2019/04/15 18:32:40 found no layout file for "HTML" for "home": You should create a template file which matches Hugo Layouts Lookup Rules for this combination.

Please assist?

0 Likes